Third Workshop on Computer Vision for AR/VR

June 17, 2019, Long Beach, CA

Organized in conjunction with CVPR 2019

Overview | Submission | Program | People | FAQ



Fernando De la Torre (Facebook, CMU)

Fernando De la Torre is a Research Scientist Manager at Facebook and faculty at Carnegie Mellon University. He is the author of more than 200 peer-reviewed publications in top conference and journals in the topic of computer vision and machine learning. He served as associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, and regularly acts as an area chair for ECCV, CVPR and ICCV. He founded FacioMetrics, that was acquired by Facebook in 2016. At FB he is leading the efforts in People-Augmented Reality. His team developed the technology for facial feature tracking, person segmentation and other real-time on device technology for people augmentation (Messenger, Instagram and FB Camera).

Sofien Bouaziz (Google)

Sofien completed his thesis work at EPFL in 2015 on real-time face tracking and animation. He co-founded faceshift AG, a company that brought markerless facial motion capture to the consumer market. Faceshift was acquired by Apple in 2015 where he then worked at developing and productizing the real-time face tracking algorithm driving the iPhone X Animojis and also available to third-party developers through ARKit. Sofien is now a staff research scientist at Google.


Matt Uyttendaele (Facebook)

Matt is the director of the Core AI Group within Facebook Camera. Areas of work for the group include: vision on devices, visual perception, deep neural nets, imaging algorithms, and computational photography. Prior to Facebook, Matt worked at Microsoft Research and Bell Labs. At Microsoft, his research resulted in several apps including Hyperlapse, Photosynth, Blink, and ICE (Image Composite Editor) and product features in Windows, Bing, and Office. At Bell Labs, he focused on video processing, developing compression algorithms (MPEG, H.263) and VLSI implementations. His research has been presented at SIGGRAPH, CVPR, and the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference.

Andrew Rabinovich (Magic Leap)

Andrew is the head of AI at Magic Leap. His career in machine learning and computer vision is over 15 years old. His interests are both in theoretical advances, as well as practical applications. Andrew received a PhD in Computer Science from the University of California, San Diego in 2008. He is the author of numerous patents and peer-reviewed publications. He founded a biotechnology startup, that was acquired. After helping develop visual search technology at Google, Andrew became interested in spatial computing.


Serge Belongie (Cornell)

Serge Belongie is a professor at Cornell Tech and a member of the Visiting Faculty program at Google. His research interests include Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Augmented Reality and Human-in-the-Loop Computing. He is also a co-founder of several companies including Digital Persona, Anchovi Labs and Orpix. He is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, the MIT Technology Review “Innovators Under 35” Award and the Helmholtz Prize for fundamental contributions in Computer Vision.


Program Committee Members

Lourdes Agapito (UCL)

Leonidas Guibas (Stanford)

Jan-Michael Frahm (UNC)

Yasutaka Furukawa (SFU)

Kristen Grauman (UT Austin)

Ira Kemelmacher-Shlizerman (UW)

Tomasz Malisiewicz (Magic Leap)

Flora Ponjou Tasse (Selerio)

Antonio Torralba (MIT)

Additional Reviewers

Arrigo Benedetti (Microsoft)

Daniel DeTone (Magic Leap)

Yasutaka Furukawa (Simon Fraser)

Leonidas Guibas (Stanford)

Amin Jourabloo (Facebook)

Paul-Edouard Sarlin (ETH Zurich)

Yu-Chuan Su (UT Austin)

Zikai Wen (Cornell University)

Shaojun Zhu (Rutgers)

Poster & Demo Session Organizers

Harald Haraldsson (Cornell Tech)

Guandao Yang (Cornell)


For contacting the organizers with questions regarding the workshop or submissions, please fill out the form below and submit your message.

Name *

Workshop Sponsors